The debut album from the Funklordz, originally released in 2004
  • Limited edition 140 gram clear, triple vinyl
  • Disc 1 & 2: full LP, including two versions mixed by Philippe Zdar
  • Disc 3: remixes by Playgroup (Trevor Jackson), Whitey, DFA (James Murphy & Tim Goldsworthy) and The Juan MacLean
  • Liner notes by Turbo Recordings founder Tiga
  • Gatefold cover designed by Chromeo and Willo Perron p/k/a Eskimo Design 
  • Photos by Tim Barber


Side A

1. Me & My Man

2. Needy Girl (Zdar Mix)

3. You're So Gangsta

Side B

4. Woman Friend

5. Destination: Overdrive

6. Rage! (Zdar Mix)

Side C

7. Since You Were Gone

8. Way Too Much

9. Mercury Tears

Side D

10. Ah Oui Comme Ça

11. She'z N Control

Side E

12. You're So Gangsta (Playgroup Remix)

13. Me & My Man (Juan MacLean Remix)

Side F

14. Me & My Man (Whitey Remix)

15. Destination: Overdrive (DFA Remix)


A note from the band:

In 2004 everything felt new.

As hip hop producers in the late 90s, we were influenced by Pete Rock and Lord Finesse but by the early 2000s, the sound began to change. People wanted Triton Beats. We weren’t so into we changed too: we traded our S950 (actually we kept it for the drums on Needy Girl) for a talkbox and a handful of synths and we signed to Tiga’s Turbo Recordings without a demo.

We didn’t know the first thing about electronic music, but we figured we’d try our hand at it…although we really just wanted to pay homage to Hall & Oates and Rick James. We had no idea what we were doing: we were writing lyrics for the first time, singing into mics for the first time, dusting off instruments we hadn’t touched since our high school band. We put together songs about sad robots and antiheroic trials of love, with the ingenuity of two childhood bffs who were making music in our mom’s basement. (The album was actually made in Pee’s mom’s basement.) The credits on She’s In Control were simple: written, performed, produced and mixed by Chromeo.

Unbeknownst to us, our misunderstood debut album placed us amongst a new crop of electronic musicians. A project we lovingly crafted with the sole aims of conjuring Huey Lewis and making eachother laugh gave us a career. Needy Girl and You’re So Gangsta laid the blueprint. 15 years later, here we are.

With love, 
Dave & Pee